In my attic, stacked rather fire-hazardly, are 32 boxes of newspaper clippings. I have at least 10 hard copies of every story I ever wrote with a word count above 600. Just. In. Case. I. Need. It.

For all of my classes I have dozens of file folders full of copies of copies of copies of stories and clips and lists and syllabi and yellowed pages of copy editing symbols. Just. In. Case.

The orchestra of Oregon forests offered a standing ovation when I went techno, figuring the days of my serial tree-killing madess were over. And they are. I put everything online. I Stumble on it. I share it on my Facebook page, on my Google saving-thingy, in my old-fashioned “Favorites” on the toolbar right up top of my screen. I bookmark it. I Del.i.cious it. I copy and paste it onto a Word document and save it to wherever stuff saves when I hit Save. I e-mail myself two copies to both e-mail accounts. I make my husband do the Flash Drive thing and so it’s all saved on that teeny little wrench thing I put in my pjs drawer.

While it may be true I’m saving trees, I remain a pack rat, a horder. I told this to Jon Dorbolo, the technology in education guru at Oregon State who introduced me to Blackboard and blogs and Shares, oh my. I confessed my repetitive saving/sharing disorder. He’s also a Philosphy prof, so of course he scratched his forehead and said there’s ALREADY A STUDY ABOUT THIS PHENOMENON!!!!

New Media. Old News.

